News Widgets


Featured Links:



The Geraldine O’Hanrahans pitch, named O’Kennedy Park, is called after Sean and Gus O’Kennedy, stalwarts of the GAA in the town and county in the early 1900′s who both won All Ireland medals during that period. Sean O’Kennedy also served as County Chairman in 1911;1914 & 1915 and as County Secretary in 1907;1908;1909;1910 & 1915. Gus O’Kennedy served as County Treasurer in 1916;1917 & 1918. The pitch was officially opened as O’Kennedy Park in 1953. Prior to this O’Kennedy Park was known as Barretts Park after Bishop Barrett who once resided in New Ross. Years later in 1994the Geraldine O’Hanrahans achieved a GAA dream by purchasing a 6 acre site behind O’Kennedy Park belonging to locals Seamus and Francis Ryan.

The lower pitch beside the main pitch was achieved through a straight swap with the original pitch which was to be far more convenient for the club. This second field was once owned by the Neville family. Key negotiators here were Dick Bailey, Ollie Roche and Pat Lyng. Also around this time was the purchase of the main field which was previously owned by yhe county board. After strong opposition from some club members the club purchased the pitch for £45000. Key club members involved were Tom O’Shea, Benny Wall and Jim O’Neill.

In 2002 a further development took place with the construction of a clubhouse that includes 4 dressing rooms, indoor handball and hurling alley, kitchen, meeting rooms, toilets, first aid room and referees room. These premises finally came into daily use in 2004. A hurling wall was constructed in 2009 on the roadside of the grounds between both pitches. Alot of this development took place with the help of a club lotto which continues to run having being launched in 1992. This came about after a meeting was called in the Viking public house by Fr Jackie Power, Tom O’Shea and Benny Wall. A Co. Board draw called The Model County Development Draw involving all the clubs in Wexford also contributed handsomely to the club coffers. Both draws are still in operation.

A Camogie section was formed in 2006. Tommy Kinsella and Caroline Carroll were some of the first involved in coaching girls from U8 to U12. The Camogie section has grown significantly and now also boasts U14 and U16 teams. A Ladies Football section was formed a few years previous and continues to coach and train girls in the club. The club also boasts its own merchandise shop which opened in 2009, chiefly in the capable hands of Rosemarie Carroll, Lisa Walsh and Carmel McCarthy, selling playing gear, hoodies, tracksuits, flags, umbrellas etc and is opened twice weekly throughout the playing season

Lotto Result

13 Jun 2012
  • 7
  • 8
  • 15
  • 26
  • Bonus
  • 26

The winning numbers for the GOH Lotto on the 12th of June 2012 were 7, 8, 15, 26 with the bonus number 26. There was no Jackpot winner and there were four match three winners, Ellen McGinley, Tommy & Ann Cleere, Willie Walsh and Ken O'Neill. Next week's prize fund € 12,400, Jackpot € 10,400 and draw will take place in The Parish Pump.